Mettler Toledo Scholarship (formerly Perkin Elmer)

The Mettler Toledo Scholarship sponsors a two-part award presented yearly by the Composites Division of the Society of Plastics Engineers.  It is open to undergraduate and graduate students.  At the time of application, master’s students must be in the first year of their program and doctoral students must be in the first two years of their program. 

The winner is selected based on a 250-word abstract describing their composites research.  This abstract must be written by the student and is judged by a panel of industry representatives.  In the first year, the recipient receives a $1000 (USD) scholarship award and a plaque, presented at ANTEC.  To be eligible for the second $1000 installment, the research described in the winning abstract must be presented in a paper at ANTEC the following year.  Procedures for submitting papers to ANTEC will be found on the SPE International Website. The winner will also receive $500 from the SPE Composites Division to offset travel costs to the ANTEC conferences.

To be considered for this award, candidates must submit a 250-word abstract on their research and complete the Mettler Toledo SPE Award Form. The abstracts and Form must be E-mailed before March to the Awards Chair.

Previous winners of the Scholarship:

2015-2016Yipin Duan University of Akron
2012-2013 John Alexander Zapata Hincapie University of Oklahoma
2012-2013 Ali Rizvi University of Toronto
2011-2012 Mehran Tehrani Virginia Polytechnic Institute and 
State University  
2010-2011 Mohammed A. Bhulyan Georgia Institute of Technology
2009-2010 David B. Dittenber   West Virginia University
2008-2009 Jongruen Ryu University of California Los Angeles
2007-2008 Zeba Farheen Abdul Samad University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2006-2007 I. Sedat Gunes The University of Akron
2005-2006 Hung-Wu Cui Soochow University
2004-2005  Ronald G. EgresUniversity of Delaware  
2003-2004 Manuel Alejandro Garcia Leiner   University of Massachusetts at Amherst
2002-2003Gang Zhou   The Ohio State University
2001-2002  Adam ZerdaUniversity of Massachusetts at Amherst  
2000-2001Bryan King West Virginia University  
1999-2000 Todd A. Bullions   Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University